Columbia Police Department: Police Regions - Columbia Police Department

Go to content

Main menu:

Until the 1800's the Columbia Police Department operated under a centralized system, however in 1979 that all changed.  In October of that year, the police department divided itself into four patrol districts, served by a 34 member police force, many whom lived in the district to which they were assigned.  Under the old makeup officers were expected to know about crimes occurring throughout the city, but, under the four patrol district plan policemen were responsible for keeping up only with the activity in their assigned districts.  

In 1994 this all changed again when the Columbia Police Department switched to it present Community Policing style.  




Back to content | Back to main menu